Skip to main content

Information about the project

Projects title: Protection of waders with the use of grazing and small retention objects construction in the area of OSO Natura 2000 Knyszyńska Forest and Narew Upper River Valley.

Call for proposals: 15/I/FN/7.2/2020/ekosystemy

Period of implementation of the project: 09/06/2021 – 31/03/2024

Coordinating beneficiary: Polish Society for Bird Protection

Projects partner: Norsk Ornitologisk Forening,



The area of implementation of ​​the project includes  2 protection sites: „Gródek” i „Trześcianka” localizated within area of Podlaskie Voivodship, as well as 2 Natura 2000 areas: Dolina Górnej Narwi PLB200007, Puszcza Knyszyńska PLB20000.

Total budget of the project: 4 108 716,92 PLN

Co-financing of the EEA Grants Financial Mechanism: 2 968 547,97 PLN

National budget co-financing: 523 861,41 PLN

PTOPs own contribution: 616 307,54 PLN

The project entitled "Protection of waders with the use of grazing and small retention objects construction in the area of SPA Natura 2000 Knyszyńska Forest and Narew Upper River Valley" benefits from a grant received from Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway under the EEA Funds.

The project was co-financed with national funds by the National Fund for Environmental Protection and Water Management.



Read more about EEA Grants:


The EEA Grants represent the contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway towards a green, competitive and inclusive Europe.

There are two overall objectives: reduction of economic and social disparities in Europe, and to strengthen bilateral relations between the donor countries and 15 EU countries in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltics.

The three donor countries cooperate closely with the EU through the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA). The donors have provided €3.3 billion through consecutive grant schemes between 1994 and 2014. For the period 2014-2021, the EEA Grants amount to €1.55 billion. The priorities for this period are:

1. Innovation, Research, Education and Competitiveness

2. Social Inclusion, Youth Employment and Poverty Reduction

3. Environment, Energy, Climate Change and Low Carbon Economy

4. Culture, Civil Society, Good Governance and Fundamental Rights

5. Justice and Home Affairs

The EEA Grants are jointly financed by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, whose contributions are based on their GDP.

Eligibility for the Grants mirror the criteria set for the EU Cohesion Fund aimed at member countries where the Gross National Income (GNI) per inhabitant is less than 90% of the EU average.